An Interview with Pop Artist Sydney Gordon

Meikhel Philogene
4 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

With her single, “Chains,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Sydney Gordon. Read below to learn more about Sydney Gordon, the story behind her single, and what’s to come.

Hi Sydney Gordon! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

Sydney Gordon is my legal name!

What city are you from and where are you based now?

I am from Staten Island, New York, which is where I am living now.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

I always loved music from a young age. I used to put on shows for my parents with my karaoke machine in my living room, and there was a point where they soon realized I can sing! Soon after, I began studying piano and taking vocal lessons at age 7. I always loved performing, but I decided to pursue my talent as a career when I began to write my own material.

Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

I get my talent from my dad’s side! My great-grandfather had his own live radio show in NYC. My dad was ALWAYS singing with me at my piano when I was younger. Both my parents have always supported me and encouraged me to pursue a career in music.

How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

I would say that my sound is Pop with an edge — strong vocals with catchy hooks.

Do you have any hobbies outside of music? What do you do to stay creative?

Outside of music, I love to exercise! I try to stay active and be as healthy as possible. When I am not creating, I love to spend time with friends and family; we’re very close. To stay creative, I always just sit at my piano and play around for fun — the best things happen unexpectedly!

Who are some of your main musical influences?

Bebe Rexha, Lady Gaga, Christina Aguilera, and Miley Cyrus!

Who would be a dream to collaborate with?

My dream collab is Miley Cyrus!!!

What are some of your future music career goals?

One of my future career goals is to collab and nurture other artists through my independent label, Static Impulse Records!

Now onto your release, “Chains.” What inspired this song?

The track was inspired by the production of “River” by Bishop Briggs. Before coming into the studio that day, I had that song on repeat — the boldness of the track was the thing that I loved about it. I was messing with a few chords right before the session, and the pre-chorus melody just kind of popped into my head.

What is “Chains” about in your own words?

In this record, I am putting aside my pride to fix something with someone that I cared about. I am basically saying to this person, you can blame me or punish me for how I have acted, but I am accepting my faults, while also not expecting forgiveness.

What is your favorite lyric in “Chains” and why?

I love them all, but lately one of my favorite lines at the moment is “bounty on my head, we’re hanging by a thread.” When I hear that, I think that is how I felt in the moment of writing this song, and the lyric describes it perfectly.

What message do you hope fans take away from your music and from “Chains?”

I want listeners to hear my stories and connect it to their own personal experiences! I want others to FEEL what I’m saying while also enjoying it and being able to sing along!

What’s one of your proudest moments of your music career so far?

The release of my song, “Chains,” is definitely one of my proudest moments so far!! Knowing others are listening and connecting to my songs is the best feeling.

What would you say are the greatest lessons you’ve learned so far?

One thing I’ve learned is that if you want to accomplish any goal, it takes time and patience. You shouldn’t give up just because you had one bad day, a bad week, or even a bad month. If you are determined, it is worth it, and it isn’t always going to be easy.

What’s next for you? Are you working on any upcoming projects that we should be on the lookout for?

YES!! My next single called, “Say What You Mean,” will be released 2/22.

Where can we follow you on social media?

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sydgordonmusic/
TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@sydgordonmusic
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SydGordonMusic

--

--