Get to Know Rising Music Artist Qbanaa

Meikhel Philogene
9 min readOct 15, 2022

With her single, “Truth and Desire,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Qbanaa. Read below to learn more about Qbanaa, the story behind her single, and what’s to come.

Hi Qbanaa! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

Hey! Thanks so much for having me. So, my parents are Cuban, but I was brought up in Dublin, and we pronounce ‘Cubana’ as if it were written with a Q. So, it’s a bit of a lighthearted way of bringing my two cultures together.

What city are you from and where are you based now?

I grew up in North Frederick Street, D1 until I was 10/11, then moved near the beach with my mam. I moved to London about a year ago because I found a place cheaper to live in than in Dublin and to see if I could venture into the music scene alone, but broke my ankle skateboarding, so had to get surgery and move back home to my mam’s house. So, Dublin for now. I’d love to move to the city if it was feasible!

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

--

--