Meet British Music Artist Alice Offley

Meikhel Philogene
4 min readFeb 18, 2022

--

With her single, “POUR,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Alice Offley. Read below to learn more about Alice Offley, the story behind her latest single, and what’s to come.

Hi Alice Offley! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

It’s my birth name :)

What city are you from and where are you based now?

I’m from Swindon, Wilts, and moved to London to pursue music.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

My parents are musicians (they met in a band), so I grew up listening to their 60’s and 70’s records, and watching them gig on the weekends! Music was my first best friend, and there are old photos of me in my baby-rocker watching my dad play piano. He also plays bass, and I moved on to that after I completed my classical piano grades. I was always drawn to the basslines in Pop and Motown music, and wanted to be able to play them!

Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

Absolutely! We are related to Dusty Springfield on my Irish side, and Soul music is something that has always meant a lot to me. My family always supported my musical creations and ambitions. Sing-alongs and parties were a regular occurrence in my household, and I like to make music that brings people together.

How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

I’ve been told you can hear 80’s Pop influences in my music, as well as Funk and Disco. I love catchy grooves and sweet melodies…my recent recordings are intended to put you in the mood to party.

Do you have any hobbies outside of music? What do you do to stay creative?

I am also an actress and love performing in theatre, TV, and film. On my days off, I enjoy spending time buying and selling vintage clothes, [drinking] coffee, and cake hunting with my dog, Mozart.

Who are some of your main musical influences?

Prince, 80’s Kylie/Madonna/Michael Jackson, Whitney, Diana Ross, and Donna Summer.

What are some of your future music career goals?

I’d like to collaborate with Nile Rogers — a master of Disco and funky Pop. Also, [I want] to play some big festivals.

Now onto your release, “POUR.” What inspired this song?

It was the 2nd lockdown, and I was listening to Disco and Funk everyday to keep my spirits up. I wanted to make a song to do the same for people!

What is “POUR” about in your own words?

“POUR” is a love song about lots of the feel-good things in life — from new love, to sugar, dancing, drinking, and fun!

What is your favorite lyric in “POUR” and why?

The opening lyric is, ‘‘Whip me up, you’re like Angel Delight’’ — and that’s one of my fav naughty desserts :)

What message do you hope fans take away from your music and from “POUR?”

I hope fans enjoy the grooviness of the track, and also feel love when they hear it. I want to inspire fans to “Pour” love on themselves and others.

What’s one of your proudest moments of your music career so far?

My previous release, “STAY HOME,” (about lockdown in 2020) is being put into the archives at the British Museum, for generations to come and explore what life was like during the pandemic! It feels like a huge accomplishment for me, for my song to be put into a time capsule, and reflect a moment in history.

What would you say are the greatest lessons you’ve learned so far?

I’ve learnt that you need to be true to yourself and what makes you happy — listen to your heart (and when making music, what your ears are telling you). That way, regardless of the outcome, you will enjoy your journey.

What’s next for you? Are you working on any upcoming projects that we should be on the lookout for?

My plan for 2022 is to release a party song every 2 months! So, the next one is dropping in April!

Where can we follow you on social media?

www.aliceoffleymusic.com
https://www.facebook.com/aliceomusic
https://twitter.com/aliceomusic
https://www.instagram.com/aliceomusic

Before you go, let’s ask you a couple of random questions:

Who is my favourite bass player?

It’s hard to pick one, but I adore what James Jamerson did for Soul and Motown, Bernard Edwards for Disco, and as a singing bassist, I love Paul McCartney.

Do you collect anything?

I collect funky catsuits. They are my favourite choice of clothing. They are so practical and comfortable. I love finding new and rare ones, and actually will need a new wardrobe soon to accommodate my treasures! Haha.

Thank you for the great interview! We wish you much continued success!

--

--